By allowing ads to appear on this site, you support the local businesses who, in turn, support great journalism.
Five new employee hires approved

Six faculty members at Barton Community College were granted tenure on Tuesday when the BCC Board of Trustees approved contract renewals.

Paulia Bailey, Justin Brown, Eric Foley, Kendra Hagerman, Jason Lindstrom and Cathy Smith are now tenured instructors. Eighteen additional returning faculty members are on the tenure track and 32 who are already tenured also had their contracts renewed.

The list approved on Tuesday was similar to the one reviewed at the April 9 board of trustees study session, but nursing instructor Dianna Holguin has accepted a position change at Barton. She is moving to a Clinical Associate position in the Nursing department. Therefore, this tenure-eligible faculty member’s contract was not renewed. 

The non-renewals due to resignations (some of which have already occurred) are Tanner Balsters, Donald Elliott, Laura Schlessiger and Yuchen Wang Boswell.

Dean Dexter’s non-renewal is due to his retirement.

Other faculty contracts non-renewed due to position changes at the college were for Brittany Fanshier, Diana Muth-Tammen and Richard Sloan. At the April 9 meeting, STEM instructor Sloan was on the list for non-renewal due to his retirement. Now, instead of retiring, Sloan has accepted an adjunct faculty position in the Academics department.

New employees

The trustees also approved new personnel on Tuesday. These included four employees on the Barton County campus and one at the Fort Riley campus.

New employees are:

• Christopher Case – Systems Analyst 

• Mahsa Roointan – Residence Life Assistant Coordinator

• Zachary Harper – Campus Safety Officer

• Jordanne Wagner – Assistant Care Provider (part-time)

La’ Tresha James – Student Services Specialist (Fort Riley Campus)

Executive session

The board met in executive session for 15 minutes to discuss the performance of an employee. This is in compliance with the “personnel” justification for private discussion under the Kansas Open Meetings Act. No action can be taken in executive session and none was taken after the executive session, other than the adjournment of the meeting.